Productivity

The blog has sufferered a bit lately.. I’ve been busy trying to get other parts of my life under control.  That is, the housework, the house, personal paperwork and business paperwork.  It’s hard work, and I’m not by any means finished, but I’m on the way and it feels good to be getting some stuff organised.

Anyways, I’ve been trying out some methods and tools to help me along the way, and I thought I’d share some of them with you.  I hope you find some of these helpful.

Firstly, Flylady.  I discovered Flylady many years ago, and have ‘flown’ on and off for all that time.  Her methods can be a bit crazy and overwhelming, but I’m at the stage now where I can get it to work for me.  I am gradually getting my house decluttered, and it is feeling wonderful.  I suggest NOT signing up for the emails, and just manually checking the site.

Google:  I recently switched to Gmail as I was having SPAM issues with my Hotmail account.  I LOVE that I can check it easily from my iPhone.  I love the tasks feature – I use it as my daily to-do list, and it is also easy to access from my phone so I don’t have to always check my computer.  And Google Calender is perfect too (and I can add Rog as an extra user so we can both add to the calendar).

Pear Budget:  A great little tool to set up a simple monthly budget and keep track of your spending.  I am trialling this one for a month as my budgeting has been non-existent for a while.  It will be *interesting* to see where our money goes!

Netbank:  Nothing new there, but I am setting up more and more automatic payments which save heaps of time, plus as soon as a bill comes in, I schedule its payment.  No more late bills.  Hooray.

Sorted:  I had my eye on this book at Kikki K for months, and then came across it for $9 at my local discount book store.  It contains heaps of ‘recipes’ for common clutter problems around the house.  So far I’ve organised our random CDs and our receipts.  There’s recipes for wardrobes, shoes, pantries and even furniture.  I highly recommend it if you have little piles of clutter around your house!

It’s an ongoing mission, and in this little house with barely any storage space, a necessary one.  Next week is kitchen week on Flylady, and I’m excited about getting in there and getting rid of some crap I don’t need to make room for the stuff I love.  Hooray for purging!

One thought on “Productivity

I'd love to hear from you!

