Back with a list

Not quite sure what triggered these memories, but I am thinking about my favourite Christmas movies right now. All of my favourites are the ones I grew up with – all of which I have watched at least 50 times. So it seems I have my list for Shimelle today after all:

1. A Christmas Story: I had a weird obsession with this movie as a kid and I would love to chase it down to watch it this year. A fairly random film about a boy who desperately wants a BB gun for Christmas but is terrified of “shooting his eye out”. The scene where the kid licks a frozen pole and freezes his tongue to it was hilarious to me back then!

Oh my. I have watched this more times than I care to admit and can probably recite the thing by heart. Way too many classic scenes to list, but when he wires up ALL THOSE LIGHTS and can’t figure out how to turn them on… too good. And the feral relatives are just too perfect.

3. Santa Claus: The Movie

My memory is quite vague on this one but I do remember watching it every Christmas. I think I need to hunt this one up as well… although I’m sure my mum still has it on video tape with all the authentic 80s ads still intact…

4. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer

A gorgeous, stop-motion animated tv special which we would catch on tv every December.

I also remember watching Prancer and wishing that a reindeer would land in my backyard so I could take care of it…

I really do hope my boys prefer these classics over some of the trashy Christmas movies released these days… does that make me sound old??

Have I missed any? What is your favourite Christmas movie?


5 thoughts on “Back with a list

  1. I love Christmas movies! I have to admit that I never saw It’s a Wonderful Life until I was 26 years old! Now that have, it’s one I have to see every season. I love all of the stop-motion original holiday specials including Santa Claus is Coming to Town and The Year Without a Santa Claus, plus your Rudolph you mentioned up there. But I do truly also love The Santa Clause movies with Tim Allen. Thanks for sparking a bit of Christmas spirit in me today (just stopping by as I’m taking Shimelle’s class as well – *wave*).

  2. Rudolph has always been a favourite of mine too. I’ve been so disappointed the past few years when these old favourites have been replaced on tv by all the new Christmas shows – they just don’t have the same appeal, not that there are many Christmas shows on anymore. I was thrilled to find Rudolph on dvd at Big W for about $12 a couple of years ago. Remember back when the weeks leading up to Christmas there were heaps of Christmas shows on TV? The tv networks don’t even seem to bother much with Christmas shows anymore :(

    Another {new} fave for us is The Polar Express. My kids don’t even believe in Santa lol, but this movie is beautifully made and has such a wonderful message of giving and putting others first. If you haven’t seen it you really should, I’m sure you’ll love it too.

I'd love to hear from you!

