CRACKLING!

Last night I cooked a roast pork. Pork is a fairly new adventure for me, since my dad always reacted to it therefore my mum rarely cooked it, and so I haven’t… Anyways, it was on special a few months back so I bought one and it was delicious, and roast pork has become a more regular treat for us.

So far though, I haven’t been able to get the crackling to CRACKLE. It has always been tough and leathery, not melty and crunchy.

Last night I triumphed though. The crackling was deliciously fatty, perfectly crispy and temptingly more-ish. The boys couldn’t get enough, and I kept sneaking just one more piece.

I’m not sure just what the secret was, but here is what I did to get perfect, mouth-wateringly shattery crackling:

  • Wash the skin with cold water and dry well.
  • If it’s not already, score the skin quite deeply with a sharp knife in lines about 1cm apart.
  • Rub HEAPS (and I mean heaps) of ordinary kitchen salt well into the scores and over the skin.
  • Drizzle a little olive oil over the skin and rub it in (and why not add a little more salt, just for good luck?)
  • Preheat your oven to 230 degrees and cook the pork at this temperature for about 30 minutes.
  • Baste every 15 minutes or so with the pan juices.
  • Reduce the heat to 210 degrees and continue to cook for the designated time (will depend on the weight of your roast – I do 30 minutes per 500g). Continue to baste every 15 minutes or so.

Voila – perfect crackling! Or at least, I hope I’ve found the foolproof formula!


7 thoughts on “CRACKLING!

I'd love to hear from you!

