On being a mum

Mother’s Day around here tends to be a day of rushing around, forgetting to buy presents, writing cards on the run, making portable type desserts and getting in and out of the car what seems like twenty times.  I do dream of a day where we go out for a lazy lunch and I can spend the day cuddling my boys.

Despite the rush and craziness, it is a good opportunity to reflect on this crazy thing called Motherhood.

I was NOT a maternal type teenager.  I was driven and academic and dreamed of long working hours and a rewarding career.  Then I hit my mid-twenties and I NEEDED a baby.  I’m not really sure what happened.  Something in my biological clock ticked over and I decided IT WAS TIME to start a family.  I’m glad it did – it took us a little while to have our first precious boy and I am so glad that we didn’t wait until later.  I gave up a wonderful career to be a mummy.  And I have never, ever regretted it.

I simply feel now that I was made to be a mummy.  Some days are draining, unrewarding and exhausting.  Others are fun and special and make it all worthwhile.  These two boys are funny and clever and gorgeous and I love them to bits.  I am so blessed to have been trusted with their little lives.  I cook, clean, sew, cuddle, soothe, shop… and love every part of my domestic mummy-life.  I’m ‘just a mum’ and I love it.  Crazy but true.

4 thoughts on “On being a mum

  1. You, without a doubt, grow the most beautiful babies!
    Look at these gorgeous happy boys.

    Its been a long time since I have been so excited to open Bloglines.

    Never, ‘just a Mum’, you are everything to them Tam.

  2. I love this post Tam…I love how eloquently you have described your feelings on motherhood. I so totally understand those feelings of being non-maternal and career driven being suddenly replaced with the overwhelming need to be a mummy. I guess it’s comforting to hear another mother voice the draining, unrewarding & exhausting part because I guess we all feel it but feel we can’t acknowledge it without feeling like a failure iykwim…I know I do! But, those great days and little moments of gut whenching, overwhelming love sure do make it all worthwhile! thankyou for sharing your ‘real’ feelings! Tatum xx

I'd love to hear from you!

