When it’s ok to fail


Hiya!  Welcome to my little corner of the blogosphere where I chat about mummyhood, crafty pursuits and other random things dreamed up during 4am feeds.  If you’re new here, you might want to subscribe so you don’t miss new posts – just scroll to the bottom of the page and you can subscribe to the RSS feed or via email.  


I didn’t blog yesterday.  I have officially ‘failed’ at Blogtober.  I want to feel terrible about that, but I’m not allowing myself to.

I tend to see these things as a challenge – something that I won’t let beat me.  I had to forcibly remind myself that I attempted Blogtober to resurrect my blog; to start writing again; to have FUN.  And I’ve done those things, so while I won’t finish up October blogging every day, I’ve achieved all the things I wanted to do.

Instead of blogging yesterday, I was having a lovely day with my family.  I met someone new at church and had a long chat getting to know her (we exchanged birth stories – always a good way to break the ice!)  We stayed around after church for a bit of a celebration of competition they were running (supporting the cause I wrote about last week).

It was an absolute ripper of a Melbourne day.  The boys jumped on the jumping castle and ran around with balloon swords.  We sat on a blanket in the shade with our sleeping baby and some lovely friends.  We ate sausages in bread; the ultimate church fete food.

Shortly after we got home, my parents popped over for a cuppa which thrilled my boys to bits.  I convinced them to stay for dinner, which really means I got out of cooking because I had nothing to feed them with so we went down to our local Thai restaurant.  Good times.

It was something we really needed – a slow day to spend enjoying each other’s company.  Life gets busy, and sometimes it’s nice to ignore all the things we ‘need’ to do, just to be with each other.

Because Monday comes around all too quickly, and the groceries have to be bought, and the cleaning needs to be done, and the washing needs to be washed.

And this week there are gingerbread men to make, morning teas to be had and Girls Nights In to be organised!

What is on your agenda this week?

I'd love to hear from you!

