Can we be friands?

I only quite recently added a friand pan to my stash of cooking equipment, which is quite strange, since I do love to cook muffins and other small-sized treats.  Friands are such a wonderful option when you have gluten-intolerant guests, or if you want to appear a little fancy.  They do require slightly fancier ingredients than your usual cakes or muffins, namely almond meal, icing sugar and eggwhites.  But they are ridiculously easy and delightfully yummy.

I whipped up a batch for my in-laws on the weekend.  When I went to make them, I found I’d run out of almond meal so I did a quick search for hazelnut friands as I had plenty of hazelnut meal.  This recipe was one of the first to pop up, and I think it will be my new go-to friand recipe as it was delicious.

Source: Taste

Hazelnut and raspberry friands

  • 1 1/2 cups (185g) icing sugar mixture
  • 1 cup (100g) hazelnut meal
  • 1/2 cup (75g) plain flour (I substituted gluten free flour)
  • 180g butter, melted
  • 6 eggwhites
  • 100g frozen raspberries
  • Icing sugar, to dust
  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease a 12 hole friand tray.
  2. Combine the icing sugar, hazelnut meal and flour in a large bowl. Add the butter and eggwhites and stir to combine. Add half the raspberries and stir to combine.
  3. Pour the friand mixture evenly among the prepared pans. Sprinkle the remaining raspberries over each friand. Bake in preheated oven for 10-12 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centres comes out clean. Set aside for 5 minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool. Dust with icing sugar to serve.
I'd love to hear from you!

