Farewell 2011

I’ve just returned from a week-long camping holiday (more on that later) so I’ve been a little oblivious to the fact that we have started a new year.  2012.  Whaaaaa?

The start of a new year ripe with fresh intentions and a burst of enthusiasm, coupled with my gift of being able to complicate pretty much everything, meant that it felt quite serendipitous to come across the 52 weeks to simply your life challenge.  I’m not generally very good at sticking with these things in the long term, but week one very much appealed to my need for some positivity, so I am playing along for as long as I can.

So, what went right in 2011?

The most wonderful thing that 2011 brought was my third little boy.  I am so often overwhelmed with gratefulness for my three healthy little boys.  My family is now complete, and I am so looking forward to all the crazy, loving, busy times ahead!  Seeing my boys learn new things, love each other and approach challenges head on makes me so happy.

Spending two weeks in hospital with my sick baby boy helped me appreciate my hubby and family even more.  We do tend to live a bit of a charmed life; without drama or tragedy, and it was encouraging to know that when disaster hits, we can pull together and get through it.

With the knowledge that my body will no longer be used for baby growing, came the realisation that I have to start looking after it so it will look after me!  I challenged myself to quit sugar for a month – and did it!  I set a goal weight of my wedding weight, took up running, and discovered that I *can* run and that it is a wonderful way to lose weight – I got to my goal weight before Christmas.

In the latter part of the year, starved for a creative outlet, I resurrected my blog.  About the same time, I discovered the world of Australian mummy bloggers – after years of reading crafty blogs, it was refreshing and inspiring to find this clique of honest, like-minded, and downright hilarious women.

I nurtured friendships with girls who feed positivity into my life, and let other acquaintances fall by the wayside.  Seasons and all that.  I realised that my mum is, for perhaps the first time in my life, one of my best friends.  I spent time with my sister who I love dearly.

I am married to the most patient and faithful man who supports me, helps around the house, and loves our kids.

2011 wasn’t half bad.  But I’m planning for 2012 to be even better.  Just watch.

Playing along with the challenge?  Let me know so I can support you too!  Not playing?  Tell me about one or two things that went right for you in 2011.  

10 thoughts on “Farewell 2011

    • Thanks sweets. It’s nice to look back positively at the year, especially when you feel like life is slipping away so fast that you don’t ever achieve anything!

      Love you xxx

  1. I love what you wrote about nurturing the positive and two way street friends and recognising the ones that weren’t so much up to keeping.. that is hard to not only recognise but also implement! Heres to an awesome 2012 for you!

  2. So much positivity, I love it! Well done on achieving your goal and I very much sympathise with letting some acquaintances fall by the wayside, growing as a person certainly makes you realise the people that are holding you back!

    Kristen xo

  3. Congratulations on achieving your goal of nurturing yourself. That’s so empowering.

    You have so much to be positive about – loved that. May 2012 be awesome for you.

I'd love to hear from you!

