Faith{full}


Hello! If you’re new here, or maybe if you’re not, you might like to subscribe to my blog so you don’t miss anything. Go HERE to subscribe to the RSS feed, or HERE to subscribe via email. You may also like to check out my ABOUT page or follow me on TWITTER.  And don’t forget to leave a comment to let me know you popped by!


Everyone has faith.  Whether that’s faith in God, or gods, or buddha, or a ‘higher power’, or mankind… or simply faith that we came from nothing and end up as nothing.  None of us know everything, and nothing can be irrefutably proven, so we all need to have a little faith.

From dictionary.com:

faith [feyth]
noun
1. confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.
2. belief that is not based on proof.
3. belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion
4. belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.
5. a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith.

From the Bible:

Hebrews 11:1 (NLT)

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

The word ‘confidence’ pops up in both of those definitions.  The thing with faith, is that you need a degree of confidence that you are right.  I believe with all my heart that I’m right, while someone with a different faith believes with all their heart that they are.  Is it any wonder that wars begin over religion?  Even if you state that you don’t have a faith, you need to have confidence that there is nothing out there, because really, we can never know for sure ;)

I don’t write much about my faith on my blog.  One, because sometimes I have a hard time putting what I feel and believe into words.  Two, I have a ridiculous fear of offending someone.  Which is just silly.  Everyone has the right to own their faith, and write about it however they please.  And you, the reader, has the freedom to either read it, or skip it.

That’s a fairly long-winded way of saying, please, when the topic of my faith comes up, be open-minded.  Be tolerant and respectful.  Topics of faith will often rock the core of us because it speaks to that little confident voice inside of us telling us that what we believe is right and true.  As much as we all profess to be tolerant and acceptant, challenges to our faith can bring out the worst in us.

Particularly as I participate in SYL12 this year, I will be exploring the values and roots that make me and my family tick.  The topic of my beliefs will undoubtably come up again.  Don’t let it scare you off.  Read with an open mind, as I read other’s thoughts with the same.  Understanding each other can only make us better people, right?

Do you find it hard to speak about the things you believe in?  Do you consider yourself a person who has faith? 

2 thoughts on “Faith{full}

  1. Well written Tam! I have faith, quite a strong faith, but I also strongly believe in respecting others with their choices and their beliefs. Faith is a personal thing, and each person will share/experience/be faithful in their own way. I think this is a great thing to apply the ‘golden rule’ to – ‘do unto others as you would have them do unto you’…imagine what the world would be like if we all applied that to our way of living xx

  2. Hey, Tam. Happy to have come across your site. And what a sweet acknowledgement of how personal faith is to each person. God is a personal God. Therefore, each man’s faith is unique to his/her level of belief, growth, experience, and measure.

    Again, enjoyed my visit.

    Carolyn

I'd love to hear from you!

