Feature blogger {Jess @ Diary of a SAHM}

After being a crafty type blogger for a few years, I felt like a whole new world opened up last year when I discovered a whole community of mummy bloggers right here in Australia. I’m now addicted to my daily dose of honesty, humour and advice AND I love that they are so lovely and willing to help out a little tiny blogger like me!

One of those lovely women who was happy to help out is the amazing Jess from Diary of a SAHM.  I just fell in love with her transparentness, her sense of fun and her ca-razy vlogs when I stumbled on her blog a while back, and now I get to share her with you!

She kindly answered some questions about her blog, and other random things:

Why do you blog?
I started because I have written a couple of books, and wanted to get my name out there before I published them (which I am yet to do.) Now I blog because I love it. I love the community and the audience and that it gives me an avenue to be me, and to have an opinion. The fact that people like it is just the icing on the cake. :)

What inspires you?
That’s a hard one, cause there are so many things.

My children inspire me to be the best I can be, so that I can show them that who you are is wonderful, and important, and vital to the world. My husband inspires me because he believes in me like no one else. Music inspires me, especially when it comes to some of my crazy vlogs. My faith inspires me, because it is the framework of my life, and it is the reason I believe I am worth it.

Is there a story behind the name of your blog?
It’s what I called the first book, so I thought it would be a good way to get publicity for it. I would change it now though; in fact I still might. :)

Describe your blog in one word
Eclectic.

Do you have any advice for beginner bloggers?
Find other bloggers who will help you out and answer your questions. Approach people that seem friendly and genuine. (I love to help!)

Also don’t feel the need to write reviews or giveaways straightaway. They won’t necessarily bring your followers, and you need to have a relationship with your readers before you can successfully market anything.

Don’t become absorbed by stats; covet relationship above all else.

Share three blogs that inspire you
Eden Land. She is so real and honest and true to herself. Plus she is very approachable for a ‘big’ blogger.

Kate Says Stuff. In so many ways Kate and I are complete opposites, but I love how she always searches for the positive. She is an absolutely beautiful lady.

Daisy Roo and Two. I love Daisy. She is my buddy. Her blog is funny and insightful and does away with all the ‘Super Mum’ nonsense.

What was the last book you read?
The Girl in Times Square by Paullina Simons. It’s one of my faves.

Paperback or Kindle?
Paperback.

Night owl or early bird?
Not a night owl, but I don’t like getting up before 7 or after 7:30. Not sure what that makes me!

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Me!


You must check out Jess (she sang an ode to her dead washing maching on her blog this week. Seriously. She is ace!) Her most important places to be are:

Her blog
Her Facebook
and her Twitter

5 thoughts on “Feature blogger {Jess @ Diary of a SAHM}

  1. Hehe, “eclectic”… and I love it :D I can count on Jess to make me feel good about myself as a mother – I’m never going to be perfect, and that’s ok. We’re all on a learning journey, although she just writes about her’s in a much wittier, more amusing and a more powerful manner than I ever could. Bless you Jess xx

  2. Pingback: Fearless » Diary of a SAHM

I'd love to hear from you!

