Fear not death’s dark shadow

Edenland's Fresh Horses BrigadeI was going to avoid this week’s topic over at Edenland.

I’m a pretty positive person.  In fact, too positive in some ways.  I avoid speaking about disease and death and sadness.  Sometimes I like to pretend they don’t exist.  I think it’s my way of coping with the thoughts.

Truly though, I’m not scared of death.  I believe that something better comes after.  I believe that my fight has already been won and my spirit will live on.

I am scared, however, of leaving behind the people I love.  Of leaving my boys.  My prayer is that I can raise them to be wonderful, strong, independent men before that day comes.

I’ve never thought much about my funeral (again with the avoidance) and little about the music I’d like.  I didn’t think I’d have any idea of the song I’d like played at my funeral.  I flicked through my iTunes library.  The first song that caught my attention was Imogen Heap’s ‘Hide and Seek’.  But it was played at Caleb’s funeral on The O.C. and I don’t think I can compete with an O.C. funeral.

I thought about a song from my most favourite ever band, The Badloves.  Perhaps ‘Lost’, although that’s not really the message I want to leave my beloveds with.

Powderfinger’s ‘These Days’?

Counting Crow’s ‘Perfect Blue Buildings’?

Then a song came to mind.  A song that I don’t own and hadn’t seen while flicking through my library.  A song that reduced me to a sobbing mess when I heard it on the radio in my car.  Not for its sadness, but for its beauty.  Its promises.  Its life and its hope.

meet me in the middle of the air {paul kelly}

 

i am your true shepherd
i will leave you there
beside still waters
come and meet me in the middle of the air
i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

i will lay you down
in pastures green and fair
every soul shall be restored
i will meet them in the middle of the air
come and meet me in the middle of the air

 

through the lonesome valleys
my rod and staff you’ll bear
fear not deaths dark shadows
come and meet me in the middle of the air
i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

with oil i shall annoint you
the table i shall prepare
your cup will runneth over
come and meet me in the middle of the air
i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

in my house you’ll dwell forever
ye shall not want for care
surely goodness and mercy will follow you
come and meet me in the middle of the air
i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

come and meet me in the middle of the air
i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

come and meet me in the middle of the air
i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

i will meet you in the middle of the air

 

The version that captured me was Washington’s cover that is featured on the Paul Kelly tribute album ‘Before Too Long’.  You can get a feel of it from this live version.

Because I believe in the Shepherd.  I believe I don’t have to fear death’s dark shadows.  And I believe that I will dwell in His house forever.

I hope forever doesn’t come for a while, but when it does, you can play this at my funeral so everyone knows I’m ok.

6 thoughts on “Fear not death’s dark shadow

  1. Beautiful post Tam, beautifully written.

    Love the songs you have mentioned, I have always thought I would have this song played – many, many, many moons from now.

    Flogging Molly ;)

    Thanks for sharing a lovely post.
    Rach x

I'd love to hear from you!

