Intentionalism {SYL}

Source: eighteen25.blogspot.com via Kathleen on Pinterest

So, I got a little behind with Simplify Your Life.  But that’s ok.  I’ll just start catching up.  Simple, see?

Week six was all about goal setting.  At the beginning of the year, I brainstormed a whole two pages of goals.  And they were good, honest, earnest goals.  But they weren’t all necessarily going to improve my life all that much.

Now that I’ve had a think about my values, my mission statement and the areas of my life that need the most work, it is easier to set just a couple of goals.  I used the S.M.A.R.T. acronym with these too – making the goals specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and timely.  No airy fairy-ness allowed.

Faith

  • Establish a regular quiet time – at least four times a week.  I want this to be a habit within a month.
  • Every two months, read a book that will grow and challenge me in my faith.

Fun

  • SCHEDULE in a fun activity with my boys every week – effective immediately!

Finance

  • Starting with March, create a monthly budget.
  • Starting in March, begin a savings plan with the aim to go on a family holiday this year or next.

Family

  • Plan a monthly date night, beginning in March.
  • Plan a monthly outing for the whole family.

I don’t *think* that I have over-committed myself here, but the proof’s in the pudding. I have no doubt that Deb will have us reviewing these during the year, so I’d better get onto it so I don’t look like a fool ;)

Did you set resolutions this year?  Are you a goal setter?  How are things going?

2 thoughts on “Intentionalism {SYL}

  1. Hey gorgeous! I think they are great goals, and definitely not too much to handle.

    I am a big goal setter, and am constantly setting myself new goals (actually have a new part on my blog about this too). I quite often don’t achieve ALL my goals, but they do help to keep me motivated and I definitely accomplish more when I have a definite goal in mind.

  2. fantastic ! firstly i think they are totally reasonable and achievable (you can always set more goals later in the year if you really felt the need). You got me too – i was just reading another post (with a lot of goals) and thinking – when shall i schedule the check in on goals post???

I'd love to hear from you!

